Reality is beginning to set in.

Now, being a little less that two weeks from departure, it’s finally starting to sink in. I’m actually going to Italy. In two weeks I will be in an aeroplane over the sea. I’m kinda FREAKING OUT! I’m so unbelievably excited, but I feel like I’m nowhere near ready. I still have things to shop for, I still have questions that need to be answered, I still have to pack, I still have no idea where to begin!

But I’m taking deep breaths. This trip is all about what God is going to do in my life. He can handle my moments of freakage and show me things infinitely more wonderful than I could ever imagine. Which reminds me of a thought I had this afternoon…

I was contemplating Jeremiah 29:11 which says, “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'” [NIV] I’ve loved this verse for a long time, but today I thought about it a little differently than I have before. Usually, we like this verse because God tells us that, ultimately, He has good things planned for us. But what if we only got the first part of this verse? “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord.” Shouldn’t we rejoice in this too?! Sometimes we get caught up in waiting for our uncomfortable situations to be over that we forget: God had a plan. What’s even better? He has a specific plan for each of us… Wow. How amazing. And I know the nature of God. If I was just given the beginning of this verse, I would know that it would NOT say, “I know the plans I have for you. Plans to make you suffer and never have any fun.” Come on now. That’s just silly. I know that whatever happens is ultimately for my good. Rough stuff is tough to get through, but it brings me closer to my Father. And when He brings me His blessings, I owe all the glory to Him.

This semester is terrifying and exhilarating, but God is bringing me to it so I know that He will bring me through it. I’m learning more and more to trust in that Big Plan He’s got. I’m guessing it’s pretty good, because He’s a good God that God. ;]

2 thoughts on “Reality is beginning to set in.

  1. it is really crazy how when God is trying to show me something, I get it over and over…
    well, it is crazy cool ’cause that is exactly what God has been revealing to me! Jeremiah 29:11 all the way!
    Amen.

  2. Heather! I’m so excited for you! God’s gonna do so much for you this semester. I know he already has for me. I can’t wait to hear all about it. And maybe you should come up to London for the weekend and we can show you around!

    P.S. We will be in Italy in March. We should work out a meet-up place!

Leave a Reply

