Flexibility, Humility, and Faith

Sometimes I think I have some really great plans. But lately, God’s been showing me again that I think too much of myself and my ideas.

In the last month, I thought up some great ways to meet with people to share about what I’m going to be doing in Italy: dessert socials, prayer meetings, etc. However, nothing has been going according to my plan. Things fell through at the last minute, people couldn’t come or didn’t even respond. I started to get really frustrated and discouraged. “Why isn’t this working? Aren’t people interested in what God is doing in Italy? How come my plans aren’t working, God?!”

Then I realized a couple different things. God has much better plans than I do. And much better timing as well. He is NEVER NOT faithful. I know that’s a double negative, but God’s big enough that you can use those when you talk about Him. He has what’s best for me in mind, and I will get to Rome when He wants me to. Also, I’ve been putting way to much emphasis on myself. God doesn’t need me. But He will use me if my focus is on Him and His glory rather that what I can do for Him. Because there’s really nothing that I can do for Him of my own merit. I am merely a vessel, a jar of clay, to be used to carry the message of His glory and grace.

So, I go back to my favorite verse – Romans 8:28. “And we know that in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” And I go back to the lines of one of my favorite songs – Blessings by Laura Story. “We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love, as if every promise from Your Word is not enough. And all the while, You hear each desperate plea and long that we’d have faith to believe.”

Lord, help me to relinquish the grip that I have on my own plans and ideas. Help me learn to be flexible. Give me the grace to realize that I am nothing without You. And give me peace as I learn [over and over again] to trust in Your promises.

Leave a Reply

