All Things New

I’ve never been much into New Year’s resolutions, but I do enjoy the excitement and anticipation that the new year brings, and the ways that I see God bringing newness into my life and the world around me.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

-2 Corinthians 5:17

There are so many ministry opportunities that the Lord is providing and I’m looking forward to all the new connections to be made.

The anti-trafficking movement Schiavitù Mai Più (Slavery No More) was able to reach out to three different areas of the city in December as groups delivered smalls care packages and messages of hope to trafficked “Treasures” on the boulevards for Christmas. I was not able to go with any of the groups as the ministered to these girls, but I did get to help put together some of the gift bags and prayed earnestly for the groups while they were out. Many contacts were made and we are hoping to begin relationships with these trafficking victims and become familiar, friendly faces in this continuing outreach.

Our Schiavitù Mai Più team also has a wonderful opportunity to be the final stop on Exodus Cry’s European screening tour of the Nefarious: Merchant of Souls documentary at the end of March. Through this event, we want to raise awareness of the issue of human trafficking throughout the whole city. Right now, we are trying to find the right venue to use that will be an efficient and wise use of resources, and an effective location to create widespread awareness within the varying subcultures that we are hoping to reach (government officials and other cultural influencers, faith communities, the general public, and the Body of Christ).

I’m also excited for new opportunities to minister as we start up English classes again. I’ve missed that part of the week since we’ve been on break, so I’m really looking forward to helping with that as we begin the semester tomorrow night!

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.

-Psalm 51:10-12

The Lord also amazes me with all of the things that He REnews. After a difficult December, He has encouraged me so much this month and renewed and refreshed my heart. He also continues to show me more of Himself in little, everyday things like language learning. Language learning is so cool. It helps you understand where words in your own language come from! Like: benediction. In Italian “benedizione” translates as blessing. It comes from the root word “benedire,” and if you break that down, “bene” means well or good and “dire” means to speak. So, literally it means a good word or to speak well of something. How cool is that?! [Please, take my interpretations with a grain of salt as I am not a linguist or fluent in Italian. Haha!]

Another encouragement I have received is that my roommate Danielle finally arrived on Saturday! After some troubles at the Houston Consulate [much like I had], she finally got her visa and made it here on a standby flight and with all her luggage. Yay!

And He who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also He said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

-Revelation 21:5

It is so good to know that our Father is making all things new and that we can trust in His promise to do so because His words are always trustworthy and true. What new things is He beginning in your life?

One thought on “All Things New

  1. I’m so happy to hear this Heather, and your pic is on our fridge…I’m praying for you when I see it 🙂 

    Dio ti Benedica!!I like your translation down there 🙂 cool cool!

    Love ya! Rachel Psalms 32:8

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

